Saints haunted by missed pass interference call

Long after this season is over, the New Orleans Saints will remember the pass interference that wasn’t.

With the score tied 20-20 and under two minutes to play in regulation, the Saints were driving for what could have been a game-winning field goal and a trip to the Super Bowl. On third down, Drew Brees’ pass to Tommylee Lewis fell incomplete as Los Angeles Rams defensive back Nickell Robey-Coleman made contact with the Saints wide receiver.

“I don’t know if there was ever more obvious pass interference,” New Orleans coach Sean Payton told reporters after the game. In a phone call with with Payton moments earlier, the league office confirmed what replays showed: the officials blew the call.

The Rams defender even admitted he made contact too early. “I was beat, and I was trying to save the touchdown,” Robey-Coleman told Sports Illustrated’s Robert Klemko.

If a penalty had been called, it would have given the Saints a first down and allowed them to run the clock down to the final seconds for a field goal attempt. Instead, Wil Lutz’s field goal on the next play gave the Saints a 23-20 lead with 1:45 to play. 

The incompletion also left enough time on the clock for the Rams to drive down and kick a game-tying field goal with 19 seconds left in regulation.

While the Saints still had a chance to win the game in overtime, a Brees interception on their first possession led to the Rams’ winning kick.

“It’s a tough way to lose a game, especially when we were in a position like that to win it,” Payton told Fox Sports’ Erin Andrews. “We may never get over it.”

Saints fans may not either. 

Follow Steve Gardner on Twitter @SteveAGardner.

If you love talking football, we have the perfect spot for you. Join our new Facebook Group, The Ruling Off the Field, to engage in friendly debate and conversation with fellow football fans and our NFL insiders.

Source link