Kansas Big 12 title streak is officially over

For the first time since 2004, the Kansas Jayhawks will not lay claim to the Big 12 regular-season championship. 

Kansas’ run of 14 consecutive Big 12 titles, 10 of which have been outright, officially came to an end Tuesday night as the Jayhawks were blown out 81-68 by Oklahoma. It was the Sooners’ first win over the Jayhawks by more than 10 points since the 1990 Big 8 tournament, ESPN’s broadcast said. 

That the run-ending loss came on the road was appropriate for the Jayhawks: Despite a No. 14 ranking and perfect 16-0 record at Allen Fieldhouse, Kansas (22-8) has gone just 3-8 in true road games this season. In league play, Kansas is now 11-6 with a game vs. Baylor still to play. Texas Tech and Kansas State are tied atop the Big 12 standings at 13-4. 

Aside from being inconsistent on the road, Kansas also had to deal with the season-ending injury to center Udoka Azubuike. Lagerald Vick also took a leave of absence to deal with a personal matter that has him still away from the team.   

The last team that won a Big 12 championship without Kansas at least claiming a share was the 2004 Oklahoma State Cowboys. That squad, led by the legendary Eddie Sutton, finished 31-4, falling to Georgia Tech in the Final Four. 

NCAA tournament bracketology: Big 12 won’t get a top seed, but its teams will be dangerous

More: Baylor guard Jake Lindsey ends basketball career after Parsonage-Turner syndrome diagnosis

While Kansas’ impressive league-dominating streak – all done under coach Bill Self – is over, it is assured of at least continuing another impressive streak: The Jayhawks will make the NCAA tournament for the 30th straight season. They have not missed the Big Dance since 1989, Roy Williams’ first season in Lawrence. It is the longest active streak in the nation. 


Source link